Apps I Use – Notability & GoodReader

I’ve put these two together because I have been using them both about equally, and I’m still deciding which I like better.

I’ve been using Notability more than GoodReader during my most recent unit (the intensive I was doing last week) because the slides were all .pptx files (therefore opened in PowerPoint) and we had a workbook that had to be completed (which I downloaded as a PDF and completed in Notability)

I only ended up with either if these apps because I got them during “freebie” weeks, because they’re normally a bit pricey (both about $8 in Australia). I started out using the Adobe Reader app a couple of years ago (its a free app) but I ran into some issues when lecturers uploaded protected PDF files. Conveniently, GoodReader went free halfway through first semester last year and I switched to using it instead.
I’d been experimenting with the various free written note-taking apps, and not really found one that I liked using (all had problems with palm rejection, which really annoyed the hell out of me). I’d heard heaps on other blogs about how great Notability was, but I wasn’t game to spend $8 on an app I didn’t even know if I’d like. Then it went free! I downloaded it, not expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised – It’s very easy to write on, and there’s a fantastic amount of colours that you can use for writing and highlighting.

I’m still in the process of working out whether I’ll continue using both or swap to just using Notability for everything. I’ve recently worked out how to set up a workable Cornell Notes template in Notability, so I think it will be getting used a lot more this semester.

~K

 

One thought on “Apps I Use – Notability & GoodReader

  1. Pingback: Apps I Use! | Thoughts of My Mad Life

Leave a Reply

