Comparisons…

A passing comment from a friend hits home sometimes.

A male friend of mine saw some photos from my sister’s wedding, and made the comment of “Wow, she’s way too hot to be your sister”. Followed by “She looks a lot like your Mum… You don’t really look like them though”.

I’ve always thought that I got the short end of the stick anyway (even before gaining a heap of weight – 20kg in 3 months. Thanks migraine meds)… But it’s always a shock when someone else says it. Somehow, the combination of everything that my sister has ended up with just ‘works’ better. And seeing as I’m opposed to any unnecessary surgery, I’m stuck with what I’ve got. Which really sucks sometimes. (One of those days when I keep thinking “what I wouldn’t give to be like Tonks”.) (HP reference. If you don’t get it, read the books.)

I keep telling myself that it will all change once I lose a few more kgs, or my hair grows out, or I overhaul my wardrobe… But I know that while those things may help, the biggest part is dealing with the fact that I don’t feel good about myself anyway. And until I can change how I see myself, nothing is going to make that much of a difference.

It’s amazing how much of an effect one comment can have. I was feeling pretty good about myself until then, really.

~K

Leave a Reply

