Epic Chocolate Biscuits

20140728-232350-84230422.jpg

I actually made these over a month ago, but the post has been sitting in my drafts folder until I actually had time to add the recipe. I don’t make them very often, because they take a while to make and during term time it’s easier to make things where it’s just mix and bake (muffins and cakes mainly). But I haven’t even done much of that recently! I’ve got a recipe for savoury muffins I’m going to try next week though 🙂

They look a little *suspicious* I guess (see if you can work out what Hubby said they looked like) but they taste FANTASTIC. Gooey, chocolatey goodness 🙂

I have NO CLUE where I got this recipe from. I’ve had it for years, and I’m not even sure any more whether I got it off the net or someone gave it to me. The recipe made about 20 biscuits (ish – very ISH).

Epic Chocolate Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 225g semisweet chocolate, chopped (I use a mix of milk & dark cooking chocolate)
  • 55g butter
  • 2/3 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • choc chips/glace cherries/whatever mix-ins you want

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C (I think that’s about 370°F – but don’t take my word for it, we don’t use °F). Melt chocolate and butter in the microwave until JUST melted (just enough that you can mix it together). Chocolate melted in the microwave tends to keep its shape, so do it in small bursts and poke at it with something to check how melted it is. If there’s still some chunks of chocolate, but about 3/4 of it is melted, just start mixing. The last of it will generally melt in as you mix.
  2. Mix flour, baking powder and salt together. In a separate bowl beat eggs, sugar and vanilla on high speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low and beat in melted chocolate. Mix in flour mixture until just combined, then add your optional mix-ins.
  3. If the mix is more batter than cookie dough, put it in the fridge for a while until it is more ‘cookie dough’-esque. This should be stiff enough that you can roll it into balls and they will keep their shape, but not rock solid.
  4. Dish out dough onto COLD baking sheets in approx 2cm round balls/lumps. The baking sheets NEED to be cold, otherwise the biscuits will spread too much and you’ll end up with one huge one instead of lots of little ones*. Bake for 10mins, then let sit for a few minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

I have no idea how long these keep in the cupboard for – they only lasted about 2 days in our house.

~K

* If you only have 1 baking sheet, the last step will just take a little longer. Wait for each batch of biscuits to cool sufficiently before transferring to the cooling rack, then run the tray under cold water until cooled back to room temp. Dry tray, then repeat step 4 until all dough is gone.

10 thoughts on “Epic Chocolate Biscuits

    • Can’t see why not! That would probably taste fantastic!
      I’ve only ever added choc chips or glace cherries – and the cherries only got added because they needed to be used up 🙂 Hubby doesn’t like nuts that much, so I tend not to have enough in the house to use for cooking.

    • So, I made some. I killed (burned) the first batch (I’m gonna eat them anyways), made the second one from Heaven, tanned the third one.
      I’m gonna make a post about them and tag you to it. You made my day better. 🙂

      • I’m taking the good ones to a friend on Thursday, she’s gonna need them. I took some of the others to some relatives and they liked them and ate them eve if they were tanned.

        So I’m gonna make some better ones next time.

        I kept them in the oven too much because they didn’t seem to harden. I realized too late they harden after they are taken out. LOL 😀

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookies sau Dulciuri pentru suflet | Me, myself and the whole world

Leave a Reply

