Torihamu (“Chicken-Ham”)

I make this fairly regularly, because it’s great to have in the fridge for adding a bit of extra protein (for salads, sandwiches, or just to eat straight out of the container). It’s way healthier than buying that ‘chicken loaf’ crap from the shops, and it keeps longer in the fridge than plain cooked chicken.

The recipe comes from here, and I would very much recommend reading that before you try doing it. The recipe I include below is the basics that I have in my recipe collection, just to remind me of the basic instructions.

Disclaimer: This recipe takes about 3 days to complete, due to the time required to marinate. JustBento’s recommended timeframe is to start on Thursday night, so that you are cooking on Sunday ready for the week.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken breasts

following ingredients are per 250g of chicken (approx 1 chicken breast)

  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 1/2 tbsp salt
  • coarsely ground pepper to taste
  • herbs to taste

Method:

  1. Trim fat & gristle off of chicken. Put all ingredients into a snaplock/freezer bag with chicken and smoosh around to cover all chicken in mixture. Add a dash of oil if it’s too thick to do this easily (I usually add about 1 tbsp total, no matter how much chicken I’m doing).
  2. Squeeze out air, seal, and marinate in fridge for about 48hrs (anywhere from 8hrs to 72hrs marinating time is fine).
  3. Remove chicken from bag, rinse under cold running water then soak in cold water for approx 1hr (desalination). Skip the desalination soak if the chicken has marinated for less than 24hrs.
  4. Preheat oven to 120°C. Roll and tie chicken into a ‘log’ shape, and cook for approx 45-50mins*, covered with foil for approx 1/2 cooking time. Take chicken out, uncover and leave to cool.
  5. Slice and store in fridge for up to 1 week**.

* I cook it for 45-50mins (which is longer than JustBento’s instructions say) for 2 reasons – (1) because when I first made this, some of it still looked too ‘pink’ for me to be entirely comfortable eating it, and (2) my oven isn’t the greatest. This longer cooking time is the reason that I cover it for half of the cooking time (so it doesn’t dry out).
** This is not a hard-and-fast time frame. Never eat food that smells/looks off. Basic Food Hygiene 101, but I thought I’d better mention it just in case.

~K

One thought on “Torihamu (“Chicken-Ham”)

  1. Pingback: Really Basic Bento | Thoughts of My Mad Life

Leave a Reply

