I hate my skin right now

2 months ago, my skin decided that it was going to go full “pizza face”. This is no exaggeration – I would not look out of place in a high school yearbook. Pretty much since the end of September, it has been red, angry, sore, and itchy. It’s the sort of acne that doesn’t really get a head, so there’s just heaps of red, angry lumps all over my face. I’m so sick of it, but I’ve got a slight problem – 3 things happened at the same time as this all started, and I honestly don’t have a clue which one might actually be causing this!

First: I ran out of antihistamines. The ones that I’d found previously to work best are expensive ($1 per tablet, approximately), and we haven’t had the spare money to get any more since I ran out. I do suffer from hay fever, and I’m also sensitive to MDF (contact to raw MDF makes me come out in hives. Decidedly unpleasant). Does anyone know if acne can be a histamine reaction?

Second: I ran out of my ‘normal’ face wash, toner, and moisturiser that I’ve been using for the last 4 years. It is also rather expensive, and I’d gotten a “all natural” facial cleanser, toner, and moisturiser pack from Mum for my birthday. So I started using that instead, because I didn’t have to pay anything for it. As soon as we have the money, I’m going to go get the other stuff again. Mum bought me the “all natural” stuff because that’s what her and my sister B use, and it doesn’t irritate their skin – but they sit on the absolute OPPOSITE end of the skin scale to me. My skin gets so oily I could honestly use it to grease something with, where as both of them have insane trouble with dry skin. I need to go and get the stuff that worked, and just give what I’ve got left of this “all natural” back to Mum.

Third: They changed the look of the box and packaging of my Pill. And I have NO IDEA whether this means they also subtly changed the formula, or whether they just went with a new look, because I’d already gotten rid of the OLD box. I’ve been on the same pill for about 5 years, and I’d been through 6 or 7 different ones before I found one that actually worked for my skin and my cramps. The cramps have gradually been coming back over the last 12 months or so (which the doctor says is just something that happens for about 10% of women, and there’s not much you can do about it, other than going with a contraceptive that completely stops your periods), and now THIS. I really don’t want to go through the whole faffing around with different pills again, but if the other two things don’t fix my skin I may not have a choice.

It’s not my diet, or the washing detergent, or anything else, because the only things that changed around when it happened were the three I listed. It is quite possible that it’s actually all three that are contributing, and that’s what’s making it so bad.

AAAAARGH it’s so annoying and I feel like an ugly lump at the moment because of it. Hubby doesn’t get it, he says “I don’t know what the problem is, you still look beautiful” but he’s sort of REQUIRED to say that, it’s part of the job description… Maybe it’s not as bad as I think it is, but it doesn’t really matter – I can FEEL the pimples, without even touching my face. They are annoying the crap out of me, and I just want to go back to my semi-reasonable skin standard. I haven’t even bothered trying to do makeup since this all started, because I’d just look lumpy and bumpy without the redness. Not really an improvement.

~K

2 thoughts on “I hate my skin right now

Leave a Reply

