New Year New Life – Day 6

Today’s Task
Categorise and prioritise “30 Things To Improve” list items
Pretty self explanatory…

I’ll give you a bit of an explanation of how I defined my categories from Day 5

  • Relationships – anything to do with how I relate to other people
  • Organisation & Management – things that relate to how I manage my time, money, and life in general
  • Health & Beauty – mental and physical health, fitness level, things that I associate with making myself ‘pretty’
  • Creativity – things I enjoy and that give me a creative outlet
  • University – anything connected with study

Now, to put my Day 3 items under these and see how we go…

  • Relationships
    • write to my grandparents more regularly
    • set aside time for Hubby (don’t let life get in the way)
    • remember not to feel guilty about saying “No” to things
  • Organisation & Management
    • waste less time online (also fits under Uni)
    • get better at keeping up to date with housework
    • stop sleeping in past 7am (also fits under H&B)
    • plan out my day every morning & follow that schedule
    • stop holding onto things that are not useful or required
    • pay extra money off our debts each pay packet
    • stop procrastinating (also fits under Uni)
    • cull wardrobe
    • if it needs fixing, fix or chuck immediately
  • Health & Beauty
    • remember to eat meals at the proper times
    • make packed lunches for myself & Hubby for week days (also fits under O&M category)
    • stop worrying about things that are not under my control
    • ask for help when I need it (not after it’s too late)
    • reduce the amount of pre-packaged foods we buy (also fits under O&M)
    • drive less, and replace this with walking or bike instead of public transport where possible (also fits under O&M)
    • improve yoga practice (better form)
    • make an effort for myself more often (makeup, dressing up, doing my hair nice, etc)
    • get 7-8 hrs of sleep a night
  • Creativity
    • set up a “reading corner” for myself
    • try at least 1 new recipe a month
    • read at least 1 recreational book per month
    • blog reguarly
  • University
    • improve my study practices
    • have designated “study hours” and stick to them as much as possible (also fits under O&M category)
    • maintain a minimum 5.0 GPA

I think those categories still work well.

I’m not sure what she meant by “prioritise” – I wouldn’t have put these things on my list if they weren’t important to me, so am I supposed to be prioritising the individual items compared to each other, or am I choosing particular categories to prioritise? Maybe that will become clearer as I work through the other challenges.

~K

The New Year New Life challenges were created by Kirsten on her blog Organized Charm, and I give credit where credit is due. I make no claim to the series, I am merely posting my working for each of the challenges on my blog.

Day 7

5 thoughts on “New Year New Life – Day 6

  1. Pingback: New Year New Life – Day 5 | Thoughts of My Mad Life

  2. Pingback: New Year New Life – Day 20 | Thoughts of My Mad Life

  3. Pingback: Discoveries | Thoughts of My Mad Life

  4. Pingback: 2015 Wrap-up | Thoughts of My Mad Life

  5. Pingback: Goals for 2016 | Thoughts of My Mad Life

Leave a Reply

