New Year New Life – Day 9

Today’s Task
Write Specific Goals
Look over your 10 year plan, and pick the 4 biggest goals that stand out.

Kirsten has posted a lot of detail about the process of making specific goals on her original post, so click on the picture and check out her explanation!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My 4 goals:

  1. Finish at University & get a job in Mental Health/Psychiatric Care
  2. Be debt-free, other than a home loan
  3. Make my marriage a high priority
  4. Improve my overall mental and physical health

Now, to answer the three questions about each

  1. What will this accomplish?
  2. How will I do it?
  3. Why do I want this?

Finish at University & get a job in Mental Health/Psychiatric care
What will this accomplish? – I will be able to get a good full-time job in my area of interest, and have a job I find interesting.
How will I do it? – Complete my Nursing degree in the minimum time with a decent GPA, then continue on to Medicine if I need to.
Why do I want this? – Because brains are fascinating, and ‘broken’ ones are doubly so. I want to be able to help “fix” what has gone wrong when peoples’ brains aren’t working how they should.

Be debt-free, other than a home loan
What will this accomplish? – Being debt-free will enable us to put the money aside for a house deposit, and remaining debt-free (apart from said home loan) will give us more freedom with our money.
How will I do it? – Pay a little extra off of my car loan every pay packet, then once that is paid off split the payments between extra on Hubby’s loan and savings for a house deposit.
Why do I want this? – To not have to worry about money so much (less debt = less worry), and to escape from renting.

Make my marriage a high priority
What will this accomplish? – A better relationship between myself and Hubby, and a more successful marriage.
How will I do it? – Making time for Hubby in our busy lives, in the form of regular date nights and “couple” holidays.
Why do I want this? – Because my marriage is important to me, and I don’t want to lose it due to neglect. Also because I will NOT become a divorce statistic.

Improve my overall mental and physical health
What will this accomplish? – When I am in better physical health, the symptoms of my CFS are less severe (and even disappear at times). Having less symptoms improves my mental health, and better mental health helps with being better able to look after my physical health. Vicious cycle much?
How will I do it? – Walk and ride more (in place of driving or using public transport). Do yoga regularly (helps with physical CFS symptoms). Work on my strategies for dealing with anxiety and depression, to reduce their effect on my daily life.
Why do I want this? – I am sick and tired of being sick and tired (that’s a song, isn’t it? haha), and I want to be able to do the same things everyone else can without the obstacles I currently have at times.

~K

The New Year New Life challenges were created by Kirsten on her blog Organized Charm, and I give credit where credit is due. I make no claim to the series, I am merely posting my working for each of the challenges on my blog.

Day 10

4 thoughts on “New Year New Life – Day 9

  1. Pingback: New Year New Life – Day 10 | Thoughts of My Mad Life

  2. Pingback: New Year New Life – Day 8 | Thoughts of My Mad Life

Leave a Reply

