New Year New Life – Day 26

Today’s Task
Modify you daily routines
Make changes to your routine so you can fit in your goals better

So, this is what my routine will need to look something like:

7:00am – wake up
7:05 – yoga
7:30 – shower & get dressed
7:55 – feed cat, kettle on
8:00 – EAT SOMETHING & drink coffee while doing some recreational reading
8:30 –  look over calendar for the day and plan to-dos
8:45 – make lunch
9:15 – leave for uni (or start day’s tasks for non-uni days)

This helps with several of the items on my Improve list:

  • eating meals at proper times
  • stop sleeping in past 7am
  • planning my day every morning
  • making packed lunches
  • improve yoga practice

This may seem like a slow start to the morning, but for me it is a necessity – I am NOT a morning person. I have tried time and again to be, but it just doesn’t work for me. I need the time to be able to wake up before I have to deal with other people in the mornings.

There are a couple of days in the week where I actually have to be at uni at 9, so those will have slightly different schedules. I’ll probably do my calendar and to-dos while eating breakfast on those days, and maybe get up 30mins earlier too. That will have to be worked out once I’m actually doing it though. I’ll just work on getting the basic timetable in place before I worry too much about variations.

As I mentioned yesterday, I don’t really have a routine for the rest of the day at the moment, but ideally my ‘evening routine’ would probably look something like this:

6:00pm – start cooking dinner
7:00 – eat dinner
7:30 – spend some time with Hubby (I can do some light housework during this time, like folding clothes/ironing/mending)
9:00 – dishes (Hubby goes to bed about now)
9:30 – light revision
10:30 – wind-down (cup of tea, recreational reading)
11:00 – bed

This would not be a routine I could follow every day though, because there are at least 2 nights a week where Hubby doesn’t get home until 10pm-ish. In which case, I would probably cook something quick for dinner and spend the time studying.

~K

The New Year New Life challenges were created by Kirsten on her blog Organized Charm, and I give credit where credit is due. I make no claim to the series, I am merely posting my working for each of the challenges on my blog.

One thought on “New Year New Life – Day 26

  1. Pingback: NYNL in practice… | Thoughts of My Mad Life

Leave a Reply

