2015 Reading Challenge

So, as I mentioned here, I’m going to attempt the PopSugar reading challenge this year.

I’m having a little trouble with selecting books for some of the things though, so any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Before I go into it though, the following books are not being considered for the list:

  • Twilight series – because I read it once and that was enough
  • Hunger Games – ditto
  • 50 Shades of Grey – ditto again
  • My Sister’s Keeper – I’ve read it too many times to count, and I’d like a different tear-jerker
  • Harry Potter – I know the series upside-down, back-to-front, and inside-out. I need some new material.
  • Shakespeare – I did WAAAAY too much Shakespeare in high school and my first few years at uni. NO MORE!

So, here’s the list (the bold ones are what I need help with):

  1. A book with more than 500 pages
  2. A classic romance – Wuthering Heights; Emily Brontë
  3. A book that became a movie – The Book Thief; Markus Zusak
  4. A book published this year – Leila’s Secret; Kooshyar Karimi
  5. A book with a number in the title – One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest; Ken Kesey
  6. A book written by someone under 30 – I Am Malala; Malala Yousafzai
  7. A book with non-human characters – The Art of Purring; David Michie
  8. A funny book – something Terry Pratchett – or possibly Bossypants; Tina Fey
  9. A book by a female author – The Tiger’s Wife; Téa Obreht
  10. A mystery or thriller – Under the Dome; Stephen King
  11. A book with a one-word title – March; Geraldine Brooks
  12. A book of short stories – Lord Arther Savile’s Crime and Other Stories; Oscar Wilde
  13. A book set in a different country – Wild Swans; Jung Chang
  14. A nonfiction book – The Common Thread; Martha Manning
  15. A popular author’s first book
  16. A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet – Ship of Magic; Robin Hobb (and the rest of the trilogy)
  17. A book a friend recommended – The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays & Stories; Marina Keegan
  18. A Pulitzer Prize-winning book
  19. A book based on a true story
  20. A book at the bottom of your to-read list(this is hard because there isn’t really a “bottom” of my list as such – just books that I haven’t been able to get cheap or free yet)
  21. A book your Mum loves
  22. A book that scares you – The Shining; Stephen King (well it’s supposed to be scary, so I’ll see how I go)
  23. A book more than 100 years old – Emma; Jane Austen
  24. A book based entirely on its cover
  25. A book you were supposed to read in school and didn’t – Tess of the D’Urbervilles (by school, this was actually a book I was supposed to read in my first semester at Uni for an English Lit course…)
  26. A memoir – Me of the Never Never; Fiona O’Loughlin
  27. A book you can finish in a day
  28. A book with antonyms in the title
  29. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit – (accepting suggestions from just about anywhere, I just want to travel!)
  30. A book that came out the year you were born – (1989)
  31. A book with bad reviews
  32. A trilogy – Farseer trilogy; Robin Hobb
  33. A book from your childhood – A Little Princess; Frances Hodgson Burnett
  34. A book with a love triangle
  35. A book set in the future 
  36. A book set in high school – Perks of Being a Wallflower
  37. A book with a colour in the title – The Silver Chair; C.S. Lewis
  38. A book that made you cry
  39. A book with magic – (probably something Terry Pratchett again – most of the “magic” books I know of are series, and if I read the first book in the series I’ll go and read the rest of the books and this list will be abandoned)
  40. A graphic novel
  41. A book by an author you’ve never read before – Eleanor & Park; Rainbow Rowell
  42. A book you own but have never read – Memoirs of a Geisha
  43. A book that takes place in your hometown – (I will find something for this, but if anyone has any Australian suggestions I’m open to anything)
  44. A book that was originally written in a different language – Kafka on the Shore; Haruki Murakami
  45. A book set during Christmas – 1225 Christmas Tree Lane; Debbie Macomber
  46. A book written by an author with your same initials – (KR)
  47. A play 
  48. A “banned book” – (What are ‘banned books’ anyway? I don’t think we do that sort of thing in Australia)
  49. A book based on/turned into a TV show – Call the Midwife; Jennifer Worth
  50. A book you started but never finished – The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People; Stephen R Covey

Thanks guys, your assistance will be greatly appreciated!

~K

5 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge

  1. If you’re willing to try any book in ‘set in a place you want to visit’ category I would strongly recommend something by Kamila Shamsie (Pakistani author). Her stories are beautifully crafted, you’ll love them. I’ve read all her books but to start I’d say try ‘salt and saffron’ or if you want something more complex try ‘a god in every stone’

  2. War and Peace has more than 500 pages. 😀 Kidding, but the only other one I can think of right now that I know would be Asimov’s Complete Robot.

    Ohhh, Pratchett, I’d recommend Reaper Man, Wyrd Sister or Witches Abroad, I love those 😀 And for graphic novels I’d usually say Sandman, but that’s a whole series. Watchmen perhaps? Or Fun Home? Had to read that for a class once, wasn’t too bad.

    Banned books, maybe they mean books that are just banned somewhere? Something like Rushdie’s Satanic Verses?

    Maybe you could find some interesting stuff on Goodreads or a similar site.

    • I’ve decided to go with A Game of Thrones for the 500+ pages, because I’ve had the books for a couple of years and just not gotten around to reading them – I keep thinking that I should put aside time to do it, because I think I will just want to power through once I start haha.
      Terry Pratchett is more my fall-back for the funny/magic books, because I’ve read them all before but that was back in high school, so I started re-reading them last year.
      Banned books turned out to be books that had been banned or censored at some point in history – I’m going to go with Fahrenheit 451, for the irony of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

