The Power of No: How to keep blowhards and bozos at bay

Title: The Power of No: How to keep blowhards and bozos at bay

2015 Reading Challenge: #27 – A book you can finish in a day

Author: Beth Wareham

I picked up this book expecting a far deeper and more useful read than it turned out to be.

Yes, the author has a great writing style – it was an amusing book, and I quite like her sense of humour. It’s a quick and easy read. But I really just didn’t enjoy it or find it at all useful.

I think that reading it right after this book may not have been the best idea, as it made the stark difference in the depth the books go into is very obvious.

I found the book very cynical (which is saying something, according to Hubby – apparently my cynicism would frustrate an atheist sometimes) and a little bit condescending. This was probably a book I needed to read 6 or 7 years ago, when I was still well entrenched in the idea that saying yes is the route to making everyone like you, not now when I’ve already moved well into the territory of saying no on a regular basis.
I had been expecting a lot more practical, useful information about how to say no in difficult situations – but it didn’t deliver. There was a little, but it was more about “this is when to say an outright no, this is when to use a more round-a-bout way”. I know that already, but I was looking for a little more help in the “round-a-bout no” area.

Who should read it? People who are just coming to realise that they’re allowing themselves to be used as doormats by saying yes to everything.

My rating: ⭐️⭐️

~K

2 thoughts on “The Power of No: How to keep blowhards and bozos at bay

    • I think my disappointment in this book is mainly related to the circumstances I read it under and my expectations of what it would be like – if I’d read it at another time I’m sure I would have liked it more.

Leave a Reply

