Seventh Son

Title: Seventh Son

2015 Reading Challenge: #39 – A book with magic

Author: Orson Scott Card

I quite enjoyed this book – but I get the feeling I have read it before. Maybe I have actually read it, way back in high school or something, or maybe it just follows a fairly consistent “formula” that many fantasy novels tend to have. I’m not sure.

Either way, it feels like the book shouldn’t end where it did – it is a cliffhanger, and this is probably going to annoy the crap out of me because I’m not sure how I’ll be able to get my hands on the next book without buying it (which I can’t really afford to do) – none of the 3 libraries I have access to have it. I was bloody lucky the library even had this one, it was sitting in “storage” and I had to request it. Usually that’s the last step before a book gets turfed out of the library system.

One thing I should note, for anyone who goes off on the wrong tack – this IS NOT the book that the movie “Seventh Son” is based on. That movie is based on a Joseph Delaney book called “The Spook’s Apprentice”, but obviously that was not a snappy enough name (or sounded too childish) so they have given the movie a different name. Which just HAPPENS to be the name of a book by an incredibly popular author who has already had a movie adaption *Suspicious motives much?*.
I was very disappointed to discover this fact, and I’m now tossing up whether I should try to read the ACTUAL book the movie will be based on, just to see whether it’s really worth the hype.

But, back to the book I’ve actually read – quick read, and an interesting one, but I felt a little bit cheated. I am probably far to accustomed to reading enormous epic fantasy series, and this book just seemed lacking in depth. The length was also a bit short for my liking, that’s not too bad if I can go straight on to the next book. The main thing that stopped me giving this 5 stars was that lack of depth – I felt like there was so much more that I would have liked to know about backstories and stuff, but I guess that is not something that everyone necessarily wants.

I first started off listening to this on audiobook, but I had to switch to actually reading it because I was constantly feeling like I’d missed things – I hadn’t, they just weren’t there. It felt like bits of the story had been skipped over, which had no detriment to how the storyline progressed but did affect my enjoyment of the book a little.

Anyway, it was a welcome distraction from all the uni readings I’m supposed to be doing. Now I’ve finished it, maybe I’ll actually get on with my homework.

Who should read it? I’d say that people who enjoy fantasy series in general would probably enjoy this. It’s an easy read, and would be a good starting place for younger readers.

My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

~K

Leave a Reply

