Beautiful music…

Or at least, that’s what I keep telling myself.

I’ve been transcribing and rewriting music today for the show I’m doing… 

repeat ad nauseum

I haven’t actually counted how many times we do this bit yet… basically, this song uses the same chord progression for the chorus, verses, even the BRIDGE. The melody changes just slightly each time, but if I write out everything in full the music will be like 15 pages long. Done this way, it’s only 2 pages.

I had to play this song today at rehearsals too. I stopped reading the music after the 2nd time through the progression… Then the cast was like “Where are we up to”, and my reply was “No idea sorry, I haven’t been reading the music. I’m just following you guys!”. This was the point when I was informed that there was a key change for the last couple of times through. Woop-de-doo, now I have to work out HOW the key change happens.

How I feel right now… please tell me I’m not the only one who remembers this…

At least my A&P exam is done – it was WAY easier than I thought it would be, and that could mean that I either did really well, or bombed. I think I did pretty well though (I hope so, anyway!).

I’ve got a presentation on Thursday, so I’ll have to sort that out tomorrow, but it’s pretty easy (hello first-year boringness). I’ve got to talk for 3 mins about what sort of nurse I want to be, and what training etc is needed to get there. 3 minutes!?!? Piss easy. We don’t even have to hand anything in, or have a powerpoint, or ANYTHING. We just have to get up and talk for 3 minutes. We are purely getting marked on how well we get up and talk, and whether we describe what we want to do sufficiently.

I’d better get back to finishing this song. At least that will be 2 down off of the list.

~K

Leave a Reply

