How do I end up doing this?

In the show this year, there are 27 songs.

3 of them don’t need orchestrating because we’ve done them before (24 songs left)

A further 3 don’t need to be orchestrated because they are acapella or using recordings (21 songs left)

Remove 1 more song because it is a mash-up of some of the other songs in the show, and therefore we can just cut-and-paste the orchestrations (20 songs)

Of those remaining 20 songs, I will have orchestrated 10 by the end of this week. I’ve also then got to transcribe 2 more of the songs and orchestrate them too. From youtube. Youtube has crappy quality sound, which makes transcribing an absolute PAIN.

The most amusing part? I said at the start of this year that I wouldn’t be doing any orchestrating or transcribing because I was too busy with uni. So it seems that instead of getting other people to do it, they just waited until I finished uni for the semester.

Keep in mind, opening night is next Friday.

So I have finished my uni work, only to spend another week at the computer orchestrating.

In addition, I seem to have (somehow) taken on the role of “primary signwriter” for backstage. Once again, not ENTIRELY sure how that happened, but I thankfully managed to drag in a friend to help with that. Thankfully, all the signs are now finished (including having to fix the most complex sign we have because it got damaged in transit from our shed to the theatre. If I ever find out who packed it I will ensure they get no chocolate all season).

I love you all, and I love doing the work, but how do I always end up doing so much? Surely I’m not the only person with these skills.

~K

8 thoughts on “How do I end up doing this?

  1. Pingback: Chaos has begun again… | Thoughts of My Mad Life

Leave a Reply

